Convert public channels to private channels#

plans-img Available on all plans

deployment-img Cloud and self-hosted deployments

You must be a system admin or team admin to convert public channels to private channels. When a channel is converted from public to private, its history and membership are preserved. Membership in a private channel remains as invitation only. Publicly-shared files remain accessible to anyone with the link.

Note

Default channels such as Town Square and Off-Topic can’t be converted to private channels.

To convert a public channel to a private channel, select the public channel name at the top of the center pane to access the drop-down menu, then select Convert to Private Channel.

From the channel name, you can convert a public channel to a private channel if you're an admin.

To convert a public channel to a private channel:

  1. Tap the channel you want to convert.

  2. Tap the More Use the More icon to access additional message options. icon located in the top right corner of the app.

  3. Tap View info.

  4. Tap Convert to private channel.

  5. Tap Yes to confirm.

Convert private channels to public channels#

Due to potential security concerns with sharing private channel history, only system admins can convert private channels to public channels.

  1. Go to System Console > Channels.

  2. Select Edit for an existing private channel. You can also filter the list of channels to private channels only.

  3. Under Channel Management > Public channel or private channel, select Private. If Sync Group channel management is enabled, private channels can’t be converted to public channels.

  4. Select Save.

Tip

Alternatively, system admins can convert private channels to public channels using the mmctl channel modify command.