All the boards you’re currently a member of from your current team will appear on the sidebar without needing to switch workspaces.
Organize boards on the sidebar with custom categories.
Press Ctrl K on Windows or Linux, pressing ⌘ K on macOS to find additional boards.
Navigate between teams in Boards with the new team switcher.
Set board and template permissions in the new Share dialog.
Link boards to channels to automatically grant board permissions to channel members.
Custom templates also support permissions control, and are restricted to only the template creator by default. The template creator is an admin of the template and can make it public so it will be accessible to everyone on the team via the Share button on the template editor, and then setting the team role as Editor.
Instead of being tied to a particular channel, each board has been automatically migrated to use its own access control list. The creator of the original board is set as an admin on the board, with the ability to change the board’s permissions. Other members are granted the Editor role.
There are schema changes introduced in Boards v7.2. If you have a large database, you may need to allocate additional time and resources to this migration. Please review this document for details around permission migrations.
If a board or custom template was previously attached to a public channel: It’s now searchable by, and accessible to, any member of that channel’s team, including future members.
If a board or custom template was previously attached to a private channel: It’s now searchable by, and accessible to, any member of that channel at the time of migration. Future members will need to be added by the admin.
If a board or custom template was previously attached to a direct message or group message: It’s now searchable by, and accessible to, any member of that channel. Future members will need to be added by the admin.
For boards previously attached to DMs and GMs whose members are associated with more than one team:
The board will be moved to the first team on the team sidebar where all the board members are current team members.
In the case where some members do not belong to the same team, we will associate the board to the first team where the creator (board admin) has access and where most other board members are current team members.
These boards may not appear in your search results when switching teams.
If you belonged to a workspace at the time of migration you’ll see that they’ve been migrated to custom categories in the sidebar. All boards from a workspace are listed under a category of the same name. Boards from direct messages and group messages appear under the default Boards category.
Categories are per-user, and can be renamed or deleted by each user after migration. New users won’t see the custom categories created from migration, and boards they join will appear under the default Boards category.
Boards that you create after the migration won’t be linked to a workspace, and will always appear under the default Boards category unless you move or hide the boards.
There are schema changes in v7.2. If you have a large database you may need to allocate additional time and resources to this migration. Please review this document for details around permission migrations.
The migration will happen automatically, but your administrator should perform a backup prior to the upgrade.
Select the … menu next to the board’s name in the sidebar, and select Move To….
The boards will be moved to the default “Boards” category. Other users with the same category name will not be impacted.
On the template editor, select Share and set the team role to Editor.