Set your status and availability

plans-img Available on all plans

deployment-img Cloud and self-hosted deployments

Let your team know whether you’re available by setting a custom status and your availability in Mattermost.

Set a custom status

Set a custom status to add an optional emoji to a descriptive status message. Other members can see your status anywhere they can see your name, such as the Channel Sidebar and in conversations.

From Mattermost v6.0, set status and availability from your Avatar in the top-right corner of the Global Header.

  1. Select your Avatar, then select Set a Custom Status.

  2. Choose from a list of suggested statuses, reuse a recent status, or enter a new emoji and status, then select Set Status. The Speech bubble emoji 💬 is used by default if you don’t specify an emoji. A custom status can be a maximum of 100 characters in length.

Note

  • If custom statuses aren’t available, you can request your System Admin to enable this feature in System Console > Site Configuration > Users and Teams > Enable Custom Statuses.

  • Custom statuses will be available in the Mattermost mobile app in a future release.

Clear a custom status

To clear a custom status, select your Avatar, then select Clear Status, or select the Clear option next to your current status.

Clear your custom status.

Set your availability

To set your availability, select your Avatar, then specify your availability as Online, Away, Do Not Disturb, or Offline.

Set your availability to online, away, do not disturb, or offline.

Other members can see your availability anywhere they can see your name, such as the channel sidebar, within conversations, and within Direct Messages.

Set your status as Do Not Disturb

From Mattermost v6.1, set your availability to Do Not Disturb to disable all desktop, email, and push notifications when you are unavailable or need to concentrate.

You can specify how long to disable notifications by selecting a preset expiration or setting a custom expiration. Your availability setting automatically reverts to its previous setting once the expiration is reached (this may take up to five minutes).

How Mattermost determines your availability

Client

Online

Away

Offline

Desktop App

You’re interacting with your computer

You’ve been inactive on your computer for five minutes

You close Mattermost, sleep, or lock your computer

Web Browser

You’re interacting with Mattermost in a browser

  • You have not typed or navigated between channels for five minutes

  • The tab is unfocused for five minutes

  • The browser is in the background or minimized for five minutes

You close the Mattermost browser window

Mobile App

Mattermost is open

Mattermost is open with five minutes of inactivity

You change apps, close Mattermost, or lock your screen