Managing Team and Channel Members (E20)

System Admins can manage team and channel configuration in the System Console.

  • Management. Manage sync, moderation, and membership settings.
  • Promoting/demoting Team and Channel Admins. Team and Channel Admins can be demoted via the System Console.
  • View channel members. System Admins can view members of a channel without having to join the channel.
  • Member count. Total member count in a team or channel.

Teams

To view and manage team information, navigate to System Console > Teams. Teams can be managed by Group Sync or Invite Only. The type of management in use may affect the management options available for that team.

Select a team to view its configuration options.

Team Profile

The name and description of the team.

Team Management

  • When Sync Group Members is enabled, the Synced Groups list is visible and additional groups can be added.
  • When Sync Group Members is not enabled, invitation limitations can be selected.

Groups

You can add and remove groups, as well as promote or demote group members to Team Admin/Member roles.

Members

A list of all members in a channel is visible to System Admins. Members can be added and removed from the team members and be promoted or demoted to a Team Admin/Member role.

Channels

To view and manage channel information, navigate to System Console > Channels. Teams can be managed by Group Sync or Manual Invites. The type of management in use may affect the management options available for that team.

Select a team to view its configuration options.

Profile

The name and description of the channel.

Channel Management

  • When Sync Group Members is enabled, the Synced Groups list is visible and additional groups can be added.
  • When Sync Group Members is not enabled, you can select whether the channel is Private or Public.

Channel Moderation (Beta) (E20)

Available in Enterprise Edition E20

From v5.22, the channel moderation settings allow Admins to restrict actions within specific channels. These actions include:

  • Make channel read-only: The ability for Admins to turn off posting in specified channels.
  • Restrict reactions: Turn off the ability for members and guests to post reactions.
  • Restrict channel mentions: Turn off the ability for users to post channel wide mentions (@all/channel/here) in specified channels.
  • Channel member management: Only Admins have the ability to add and remove channel members in the specified channels.

These settings are modified in System Console > User Management > Channels.

Note: These settings are applicable only to Guests and Members. System, Team, and Channel Admins are not affected. If you wish to grant posting ability to a specific member, you must first promote that member to Channel Admin.

The availability of channel moderation settings can also be affected by existing system and team permissions configurations. If there are existing configurations that override the channel settings you would like to apply, it will be indicated in the user interface. These settings can then be adjusted in the relevant panel in the Permissions section of the System Console.

Configure a channel so that members can post/reply/react but guests can only read and react.

  1. Navigate to System Console > User Management > Channels.
  2. Select Edit next to the name of the channel you want to configure.
  3. In the Create Posts panel, uncheck Guests.
  4. In the Post Reactions panel, uncheck Guests if required.
  5. Choose Save.

The channel is available for all members and guests to access, but guests can only read messages and react to them.

Create an Announcement Channel where only channel admins are able to post (read-only).

  1. Create a new channel (either Public or Private).
  2. Navigate to System Console > User Management > Channels.
  3. Select Edit next to the name of the channel you just created (you may need to search for it).
  4. In the Create Posts panel, uncheck Guests and Members.
  5. In the Post Reactions panel, uncheck Guests and Members.
  6. Choose Save.

The channel is available for all members and guests to access but only admins can post.

Groups

You can add and remove groups, as well as promote or demote group members to Team Admin/Member roles.

Members

A list of all members in a channel is visible to System Admins. Members can be added and removed from the team members and be promoted or demoted to a Team Admin/Member role.