Save and pin messages

Available in Mattermost Free and Starter subscription plans. Available for Mattermost Cloud deployments. Available for Mattermost Self-Hosted deployments.

You have two ways to flag a post to make it easy to find later: saving messages and pinning messages.

  • Saving a message saves it for only you.

  • Pinning a message flags it for an entire channel.

Save messages

Save messages for later follow up by selecting the Save Save icon. icon next to a message.

Save messages for later follow up.

See your saved messages

To see all of your saved messages, select the Bookmark icon to the left of your avatar. The right-hand sidebar opens to show the list of saved messages.

Unsave messages

To remove an item from your Saved Posts list, select the Save icon next to message to clear it.

../_images/remove-from-saved-posts.png

Pin messages

All members of a channel can pin important or useful messages to that channel. The list of pinned messages is visible to all channel members. There is no limit to the number of pinned posts in a channel.

  1. Mouse over the message that you want to pin. The […] link appears.

  2. Select […] > Pin to channel

Pinned messages are marked with the pinned icon. For example:

Enter slash commands in the message field.

See all pinned messages

To see all pinned messages in a channel, select the Pin icon located in the channel header.

Open pinned messages in the right-hand sidebar.

The right-hand sidebar opens to show the list of pinned messages. For example:

Review the list of pinned messages.

Unpin messages

  1. Mouse over the message that you want to unpin. The […] link appears.

  2. Select […] > Unpin from channel