Skip to main content

Activate or deactivate a user

PUT 

/api/v4/users/:user_id/active

Activate or deactivate a user's account. A deactivated user can't log into Mattermost or use it without being reactivated.

Since server version 4.6, users using a SSO provider to login can be activated or deactivated with this endpoint. However, if their activation status in Mattermost does not reflect their status in the SSO provider, the next synchronization or login by that user will reset the activation status to that of their account in the SSO provider. Server versions 4.5 and before do not allow activation or deactivation of SSO users from this endpoint.

Permissions

User can deactivate themselves. User with manage_system permission can activate or deactivate a user.

Request

Responses

User activation/deactivation update successful