Skip to main content

Delete a channel

DELETE 

/api/v4/channels/:channel_id

Archives a channel. This will set the deleteAt to the current timestamp in the database. Soft deleted channels may not be accessible in the user interface. They can be viewed and unarchived in the System Console > User Management > Channels based on your license. Direct and group message channels cannot be deleted.

As of server version 5.28, optionally use the permanent=true query parameter to permanently delete the channel for compliance reasons. To use this feature ServiceSettings.EnableAPIChannelDeletion must be set to true in the server's configuration. If you permanently delete a channel this action is not recoverable outside of a database backup.

Permissions

delete_public_channel permission if the channel is public, delete_private_channel permission if the channel is private, or have manage_system permission.

Request

Responses

Channel deletion successful