Skip to main content

Burn a burn-on-read post

DELETE 

/api/v4/posts/:post_id/burn

Burn a burn-on-read post. This endpoint allows a user to burn a post that was created with burn-on-read functionality. If the user is the author of the post, the post will be permanently deleted. If the user is not the author, the post will be expired for that user by updating their read receipt expiration time. If the user has not revealed the post yet, an error will be returned. If the post is already expired for the user, this is a no-op.

Permissions

Must have read_channel permission for the channel the post is in.
Must be a member of the channel the post is in.

Feature Flag

Requires BurnOnRead feature flag and Enterprise Advanced license. Minimum server version: 11.2

Request

Responses

Post burned successfully

Response Headers
    Has-Inaccessible-Posts

    This header is included with the value “true” if the post is past the cloud's plan limit.